Skip to content

what is weird?

November 3, 2010

I saw this clip of Francis Chan speaking at the Catalyst Conference in Atlanta over here on Lindsey’s blog. I took the time to watch it, and I think you should, too.

What is weird? I like this question.

Yesterday I was talking to my dear World Race teammate Lacey about re-entry. Oh, re-entry. We both decided that we think it will never end. I still experience culture shock and think that a lot of things in America are weird. It’s weird how wired-in everyone is all the time. We live our lives on the internet. It’s weird how busy everyone is. How rare a deep conversation can be. How little people are willing to sacrifice for each other. How we have so much stuff. We have houses full of stuff and then storage units to hold the stuff that doesn’t fit. It’s not that all of this is necessarily wrong, it’s just different. To me it seems weird. I don’t know if I fit in…if I even want to fit in.

But isn’t that kind of the point of the World Race? To be so changed to the core that you can never really fit in with anything other than biblical, radical, Kingdom living? No one on that trip left unchanged. I was stripped to the core until the only things I had left were my faith, my community, and my dependency on the Lord. I was broken and experienced powerful redemption in that state. I’m changed.

Sometimes I feel like I’m losing sight of that now that I’m back in my cozy American life. I was looking at pictures from the Race the other night and starting to freak out because I don’t know if I remember what it felt like to be there. Those memories don’t seem to interact with my daily life as much as they used to. It’s getting to the point where it feels like a dream.

is this real life? a year ago, in israel.

Even though it’s one of the most commonly quoted verses, Romans 12:1-2 is challenging me today.

“I appeal to you therefore, brothers, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship. Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.”

Francis Chan asks what it would look like if you put your life story in the Bible…say, in the book of Acts. What would that look like? Would it fit? Wow, that’s challenging, too. I once heard someone say, “If God doesn’t come through, we’re screwed.” I know that’s maybe not the most polite way of putting it, but I love that perspective. I want to be continually in that place–living with that kind of faith. I don’t want to hedge my bets. I don’t have to be Paul or Peter, but I do want to be the Chelsea that God created me to be. A woman who hears the voice of God and obeys without batting an eye, no matter how weird it might seem to the world around me.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2010 10:15 am

    gosh, i think i took that picture of you next to mary. weirddd. also i love this line: “I don’t have to be Paul or Peter, but I do want to be the Chelsea that God created me to be.” that was hott.

  2. matthewlasnyder permalink
    November 3, 2010 11:13 am

    i love when you write.

  3. November 3, 2010 11:22 am

    This is awesome, Chels. I feel so much like this, too, so many times a day. I wonder if I’m forgetting. I fight because I don’t want to forget. But I also forget how much I had to fight to change. It’s a strugge either way… But I don’t want to ever be pre-race me again. Some things are easy to go back to, but my core, like you said, well, it’s been stripped to and I see what’s there. And what’s not there that I thought was.

    I love these blogs on re-entry. They touch a deep part of who I am and challenge me to step back and see if where I am is normal.

    i love you and am so glad we got to see one another at Training a few weeks ago.

  4. Lacey Pauley permalink
    November 3, 2010 5:45 pm

    I loooove that you mentioned me in your blog…I feel so cool right now! ;) love you!

  5. Birkleigh Foreman permalink
    November 4, 2010 5:49 am

    oh chelsea love. you are loved. you are changed. you will bring change to the world around you. keep letting Him love you, and listen to His voice. i wanna hug you right now.

  6. November 11, 2010 1:17 pm

    love this. and you <3

Leave a Reply

