Skip to content

man, you’ve changed.

October 31, 2010

This is my confession:

I am obsessed with Taylor Swift. I mean, look at her.

what's not to love?

She came out with a new album this past Monday. I’ve been counting down for months.

Here’s the thing. I used to hate country music. Except, a little secret is that I loved Dixie Chicks back in the day. But that was also back in the day when literally the only music I listened to was Michelle Branch and John Mayer, with the occasional Anberlin, Avril Lavigne, or Vanessa Carlton thrown in there. My musical interests have branched since then, and I kind of put my country/pop-crossover love in the closet.

Well it’s back in full force. Over the past year and a half I have fallen in love Taylor Swift. Slowly she’s wormed her way into my heart. I remember when “Teardrops on My Guitar” came out and I hated it. I thought she was just another annoying country singer. I hated the twang, when she talked about pick up trucks, and everything about it. Boy, have things changed for me. I love her new album. I haven’t been able to listen to anything else for a week solid. When I’m in the car, the cd’s playing. When I’m at home, it’s all that comes out of my computer’s speakers.

Taylor has her critics. Some say she can’t sing live. Some say she over shares in her songs. Some say she’s a drama queen. Some say her little innocent “act” is annoying. If I could, I would tell her to let the haters hate and watch the money pile up. If I could, I would be her best friend. Okay, I might have confessed to God that I don’t think reincarnation is real, but if it is, I would really like to be Taylor Swift in my next life.

Her music is fun. It makes me feel young and happy and free. It makes me wanna fall in love every day for the rest of my life, and if my heart breaks, to relish that as well, because there is beauty in sorrow. She always sings about kissing in the rain and dancing around her room. She sends (not-so) secret messages through her cd liners. She is COOL! She inspired me to get my very own pair of cowgirl boots.

To be honest, I still hate country music. I still gag whenever I hear old men on the radio singing mournfully about losing their house, car, kids, wife. You will never find me at the CMA music festival. But if I ever get the chance to meet Taylor Swift and possibly become her best friend, then YES you better believe I’m all over that.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. shanaynegans permalink
    October 31, 2010 10:58 pm

    My favorite song of hers from her old albums is “A Place in this World”. I really think she was thinking about me when she wrote it haha.

  2. November 2, 2010 8:57 am

    targettttt dress. i have the same one. one of my many purchases there over my 6 week stint in the states this summer. :)

  3. Carolyn Husk permalink
    November 3, 2010 6:07 am

    If you ever get the chance to meet her, please take Laura with you. She loves Taylor, too!

Leave a Reply

