Skip to content

tripping down memory lane.

October 14, 2010

Last night April and I went to see Mae at Musica. Side note: it cracks me up that Musica’s tagline is “Akron’s live music venue.” I mean, it’s true and kind of pathetic that we have only one venue here. I digress.

April and I used to love Mae, along with everyone else, back in the day. We went to see them two times my freshman year of school. I’m kind of bummed because I wanted to post this infamous picture of April, Benji, Allison, and I went to see them in Toledo, but I can’t find the photo. It’s of me, April, Allison, and the guitarist. Except there was a camera malfunction and for some reason I am strategically cut out of the picture. I was upset about that at the time. It’s pretty hilarious, though.

Anyways, When I saw that they were going on a reunion/goodbye tour, I was all over that. Can we say Nostalgiafest2k10? I went to so many shows in college. Especially sophomore and junior year. It’s weird to think about. The friends I went to dozens of shows with are all teachers or business people or married or missionaries or touring around the country doing who knows what. We don’t really go to a lot of shows anymore. When we do, we feel kind of old. Okay, I know I’m only 23, but that’s old compared to the 15-year-old crowd that usually populates shows. The cool thing about being older is that you don’t have to pay the dumb cover charge at the door. Woo!

Luckily for me, I still have my amazing shimmy to the front of the crowd skills, and last night I was able to make my way right up there front and center to enjoy the end of the show. Let me give you a few tips. It helps if you’re a tiny girl, because what tall person (especially boy) is going to begrudge a tiny girl from wanting to be able to see. I realize that we’re not all annoyingly 5’0, so just try to follow the tips to the best of your ability.

Do the shoulder tap, say excuse me, and continue walking forward no matter what. It really helps if there’s someone that’s already up there that you’re going up to meet, but it’s not necessary. Seriously, just walk confidently, and if you’re tall, hunch, I guess. What’s the worst that can happen? People will give you dirty looks. That’s all. Oh, and one last tip: it reallllly helps if you make your move between songs. I’ve learned that this is when peoples’ guards are most down, because usually they’re making a comment to their friend about how great the show is.

Once you’re up front, you have this great, unimpeded view. Plus, you can heckle the band. I love heckling the band. I don’t really know why, but I get so much joy out of it. I like to remember that people in bands are just people, too. One time, at an Anathallo show, I turned to my friend and said, “Erica looks like my mom!” Which isn’t a negative thing. She looks more like my mom than I or any of my sisters do, in my opinion. Erica heard me say that, and laughed. I never got the chance to explain, though. Actually, one time I made my mom come see Anathallo with me. I should have introduced them.

I get sad when I think about Anathallo not being a band anymore. I think I saw them play eight shows? Overkill? Not at all. You would understand if you had ever saw them live. One thing that’s cool about Colby (among many other things) is that he knows Seth from Anathallo. They both grew up in Japan.

Now I’m ending this post awkwardly with a picture of Hope, Jolie, and I.

 

this was at an anathallo show in maybe 06?

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2010 4:02 pm

    Hmmm. Here’s a link to a pic of Erica. I’m even sporting her hair-do lately.

    But I can’t sing like her.

  2. October 14, 2010 6:08 pm

    haha, that picture is so old. I remember that day :) remember when we saw them in GR? Hilar.

  3. October 14, 2010 11:48 pm

    dude, remember when we saw anathallo in nashville and i snorted and then they stopped playing for a second because they all laughed? i just remembered that. and i love that picture of us.

Leave a Reply

