Skip to content

you’ve got my only heart.

October 1, 2010
tags: , ,

I’m a little bit in love with Ohio right now.

Okay, let’s face it. Completely in love. When they say that absence makes the heart grow fonder I have to agree. I was absent from Ohio for a year and the fondness I feel is exploding out of my heart. I think Ohio is the best state ever! I walk outside and observe like I’m an outsider. Then I revel in the Ohio-ness. I can’t get enough of it.

photo courtesy of april. she takes beautiful pictures of ohio. click to see more.

Things I bet you didn’t know about Ohio:

  • Eight US presidents were from Ohio, which is more than any other state.
  • We have cool cities and beautiful countryside.
  • We have the largest population of Amish people in the states.
  • Ohio is basically the birthplace of football and rock and roll. Also I live within an hour from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and the Football Hall of Fame.
  • Cleveland, Ohio was the first city in the world to install traffic lights.
  • The band Hawthorne Heights wrote a song called “Ohio is for lovers.”
  • The Black Keys, Reliant K, Chrissie Hynde (The Pretenders), Sanctus Real, Over the Rhine, and Bone Thugs-n-Harmony all hail from this great state.

I was in summer-like weather conditions from January on this year. While I definitely consider myself a summer girl, I was kind of dreading going out into the heat by the end of August and even the warm days in September.

Today is different, though. Today is October. Today is fall. Technically it has already been fall for a week or so, but today feels like fall. And yesterday felt like fall. I think I had begun to take Ohio for granted before I left on the World Race. There’s something so beautiful and perfect about living in a place that experiences all four seasons. I think that I’ll probably be changing my tune by the time January, February, and March come around, but for now I will bask in the glory of the shifting seasons.

http://ohiobandits.com/

i think i'll buy this shirt and wear it every day.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Mama permalink
    October 4, 2010 12:31 pm

    I felt the same way after coming home, in October of 93 or so, to Ohio from CA. I loved Napa and Sonoma…Muir Woods…Point Reyes… San Francisco… Sausalito…and Yosemite. But they somehow could not compete with our own Cuyahoga Valley and its outrageous burst of fall color each year.

  2. October 4, 2010 12:37 pm

    first of all – you forgot to mention that 98 DEGREES IS FROM OHIO. also cedar point is the roller coaster capital of the WORLD. Oh and the WRIGHT BROTHERS. Oh and Katie Holmes. Oh and the Drew Carey Show. Oh and Josh Radnor (How I Met Your Mother.) Oh and Sarah Jessica Parker. Also, we have great cornfields. Even cement cornfields in Columbus! Basically I’ve been obsessed with Ohio lately as well. And I’ve been looking for an Ohio shirt to buy – I like that one you have posted. Let’s get them and be lovers FOREVER.

  3. October 4, 2010 12:40 pm

    oh and i forgot to mention how OHIO played a KEY ROLE in the civil war! let’s be as obsessed with ohio as people are with texas. bah!

  4. October 4, 2010 1:17 pm

    halle berry and kim deal of the pixies too! i’ve realized after being away from ohio for many years that i really love it so much. i might be in new york city but i keep dreaming of ohio, isn’t that strange? it has a hold on me though.

  5. Brian Alonzo permalink
    October 4, 2010 1:40 pm

    and The Alonzo’s live here now!!!!!!!

  6. shanaynegans permalink
    October 4, 2010 1:59 pm

    I typed in “You know your from Ohio if” into google and it listed 38 of the lamest things I’ve ever read. However, chewing gum was patented in 1869 from an Ohioian!!!!!

  7. Ape permalink
    October 4, 2010 2:27 pm

    Woo! There is no place i’d rather be in the whole wide world in the fall than Ohio. I even took that picture with my phone! Just goes to show how beautiful this great state is. :) thanks for the plug to my site! :) can’t wait for MAE!

  8. Katie permalink
    October 4, 2010 5:58 pm

    I LOVE OHIO too!! I am kinda sad that I have to leave it! I think we should move the WR office up there! They don’t know what they are missing! :)

  9. beks permalink
    October 14, 2010 12:41 pm

    OHIOOOOOO! miss it..but I miss you MORE!

Leave a Reply

