Skip to content

tea for two.

September 24, 2010

I was just refilling my Nalgene bottle and thinking about last night. April and I met up at Sand Run Park in Akron and went for a power walk together. I loved it. I imagined us in 20 years and 40 years doing the same thing. Then we went back to her house to eat pizza and watch Grey Gardens. It was a really great night. Everyone needs a best friend. Lucky for me, I have many. People argue and say that you really can’t have more than one BEST friend simply because of the nature of the word “best,” but…whatever.

april and i a few years ago.

Also while I was filling my Nalgene, I was thinking about the World Race. It brought me back to a lot of memories of launch in Ireland.  It’s hard to believe that was over a year ago. April and I were both pretty freaked out over everything. We spent time in her tent crying, listening to music when we were supposed to be on a technology fast, and writing in our journals. I have couples predictions of who we thought would get together from our squads…only one of which came true (and that one was marked HIGHLY UNLIKELY).

It was so cold there, and we were camping, so April had the brilliant idea to heat water in the microwave in the little guest house and then put it in our water bottles to keep our feet warm. It worked so well. I wrote in my journal, april took tea from the kitchen and the blanket from the plane. and also she’s really holy. I was so glad that April was there to go through the craziness with me. I looked forward so much to every time we got to see each other throughout the year.

in romania, at the awakening conference. it was so cold. we actually zipped our sleeping bags together to stay warm.

That night was such a fun one. We played kickball at sunset–J squad vs. K squad. I didn’t write who won…that’s so me. I couldn’t care less about competition as long as people are having fun (I could write another whole blog on that topic). We ate popsicles even though it was really cold outside. Emily and I sang every single Regina Spektor song at the top of our lungs.

I was about to talk about how that night was one of the few fun days in Ireland, but then as I paged through my journal and thought more about that month, it was really fun. I was pretty miserable most of the time because of the weather and cold and the whole camping in hurricanes situation, but I can say that we had fun. We made up rumors and spread them through the squad, we ate amazing lamb dinners at church members’ houses, we made friends with French people and little kids at our campground, and we made up a music video for “Since You’ve Been Gone.”

I’m going on a mini-adventure this weekend…to Indiana. Adventure is a state of mind, right? I can’t wait to spend time with two of my World Race teammates and meet their families and see their lives.

And just in case you somehow missed the “Since You’ve Been Gone” music video…here it is for your viewing pleasure. Filming our back up dance in the airport still stands out as one of the top ten most victorious moments of my life.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2010 9:30 am

    “People argue and say that you really can’t have more than one BEST friend simply because of the nature of the word “best,” but…whatever.”

    PREACH IT, woman. glad you’re one of my best friends ;-)

  2. Erin Walsh permalink
    September 24, 2010 12:32 pm

    Awesome video!

  3. September 24, 2010 4:50 pm

    i don’t think i’ve ever seen that lipdub before? so amazing.

  4. Lacey permalink
    September 24, 2010 5:20 pm

    You cannot get here fast enough! I’m so looking forward to cuddling with you!

  5. September 24, 2010 11:06 pm

    a great night it was. and some great memories those were. except i honestly can’t remember stealing tea…i remember the idea to warm up the nalgenes…and i remember all of those cold, terrible nights while we cried in my tent…and i remember listening to taylor swift and boycotting the tech fast….but i can’t remember stealing the tea…ahh. hope you have a fun weekend! love you sis.
    ps you look so tan in that pictures of us in the tent in romania! wow!

  6. Nick Pauley permalink
    September 27, 2010 10:43 pm

    Which prediction was “Highly Unlikely?”

  7. September 28, 2010 12:37 am

    I’m sooo curious about the list. I bet it’s funny.

  8. September 28, 2010 12:38 am

    AND I have YOU two to thank for the warm water in a Nalgene thing? That saved my life in Ireland! Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

