Skip to content

amy grant, okay?!

September 22, 2010

I love music. Who doesn’t, really? I have so much music on my computer. Sometimes people try to call me a music snob, but I just don’t think so. Look,  a random shuffle through my iTunes brings me first to a Brandy song, then Nichole Nordeman, American Football, Dashboard Confessional, and Elton John.

Despite all the options I have to choose from, this week I’ve been choosing Amy Grant. I have this weird thing for old Amy Grant music.  I don’t think there is such a thing as new Amy Grant music, but I can’t be quite sure. I’m not into her scene anymore.

prime amy grant loving years.

When I hear an old Amy Grant song, something in my heart lifts. I have such good memories of being little and dancing around the house to classics such as “Baby, Baby.” I remember vaguely going over to someone’s house and she could play “If These Walls Could Speak” on the piano and I was just amazed by that. A few years ago Shan and I threw around the idea of getting a sisterhood tattoo having something to do with the song “Galileo.” The song says, “Ask me just how much I love you. You are star light. I’m Galileo.”

Look what music we were getting ready to on the day of Shan’s wedding:

I don’t know where I’m going with this really, but I just wanted to talk about Amy Grant. And sisters, I guess. Having a sister is cool. Being a sister is cool. I hope one day to have more than one daughter so that they can be BFF like I am with my sisters.

kay doing shanna's hair.

shan, eve, and kay getting ready.

all the sisters.

We love. We’re changing and growing up, but we still love each other. And Amy Grant.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2010 11:06 am

    You listened to Amy Grant. I listened to Cepillin. Google him. He’s a creepy clown with a weird voice who sang a song about Tomas saying, “Tomas, que feo estas!” Oh cultural differences. Love ’em.

  2. September 22, 2010 11:48 am

    ohmygosh – why is kira so dang CUTE?! also, i wasn’t allowed to listen to amy grant when i was little, because i guess my parents thought she was evil (using the word “baby” wasn’t holy in their book – unless it was referring to the baby jesus christ) so i don’t know any of her songs! bumma.

  3. Mama permalink
    September 22, 2010 11:54 am

    I really like all those sisters. And Amy Grant…I knew her before you were born. She has her Father’s eyes, and she sang about it all the time to Kim and me in our dorm room at Moody.

    From a piece of scratchy vinyl spinning around on our dresser.

  4. brittany permalink
    September 22, 2010 4:10 pm

    amy grant brings me back, i always thought it was cool we had the same last name. that picture of you and your sista’s is really really cute i love shan’s dress and of course you all are lookin’ pretty baber.

    love you!

  5. meg permalink
    September 22, 2010 4:55 pm

    yah!! so glad you found me. did colbs give you my blog site? i will stalk you from time to time now. love your post about sisters. you guys are so cute!!

  6. October 12, 2010 5:00 am

    I just mentioned being into old Amy Grant on my blog, but my definition of “old” runs more to the 1982-88 range. A mutual Amy Grant tag brought me to your post. Mine’s at http://wp.me/p13R3A-2h

Leave a Reply

