Skip to content

some days aren’t yours at all.

August 31, 2010

The Awakening conference has been going on in Dublin, Ireland the past few days. They have a live feed where you can watch the sessions as they go on. I woke up at 5am today to watch Andrew Shearman bring it. I’m kind of mad now because I’m wide awake and too hungry to go back to sleep. I guess I’ll nap later. It was worth it though. Being involved even just through the live feed has been life-giving for me. It makes me a little homesick for aspects of the Race: speaking life, insane corporate worship, aggressive v-necks, hilarity. It’s a good reminder of who I am. Who I want to be.

Something that trips me out about the World Race is the number of people who I met throughout the year. I was in dozens of time zones and countries. Thousands of people live in each place that I visited. I met just a few, and it blows my mind.

Sitting here on my bedroom floor in Ohio, it’s hard for me to remember all of it.

Vuthy still lives in Cambodia, working out God’s plan for his village. Bishop Maurice still wakes up before the Kenyan sun and prays for hours. Baby Sharon in Tanzania is probably walking totally on her own by now.  I’ll bet Papa still cries when he prays in his tiny church in his tiny village in Romania. The Almas continue to work hard every day to make sure that the church in Albania grows into the future.

And all these parallel universes exist all over the world. We’re all living, breathing, pushing. We’re all family. One goal: Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done.

Something that I miss about being on the Race is how inspired I constantly was. I loved the ability to have conversations with people who are so passionate about what God is doing in their country, town, or village. They constantly pushed me to question my motives and search my heart for that same passionate spark.

Now that I’m home, I’ve had time to process. I’ve had time to look back through my pictures and videos. Because I have time now, I want to go back and use some of the footage that I took. I made this video to remind myself of all the people I saw this year. To remind myself that when I think my life is hard, there are so many whose lives are infinitely harder. To remind myself to pray for them. To remind myself that God has them in His hands, just like He has me.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Halley permalink
    August 31, 2010 8:15 am

    Um, some days I miss you. Especially today. LOVE the video.

  2. matthewlasnyder permalink
    August 31, 2010 9:25 am

    I’ll watch the vid when I get a chance, BUT START DECLARING THINGS OVER YOUR DAY! God’s moving here, too. It’s just sometimes harder to see in a society that’s consumed by itself…

  3. August 31, 2010 9:43 am

    chelsea!
    i loved this blog. wraps up a lot of the emotions i have been feeling here. ireland has been amazing, i’m glad you have been able to watch it. praying for you, friend.

Leave a Reply

