Skip to content

story behind the picture (new feature): shabbat shalom.

August 3, 2010

Today I’m going to start a new feature that I’ll write every so often…basically whenever I feel like it. I’ll call it “story behind the picture” and it involves me finding a picture that I like or that I think is funny and then I write about it. It’s entertaining to me because it gives me an outlet to tell random stories from the past year of my life. I hope you like it.

This week’s photo:

shabbat shalom!

I don’t know why I was sitting down and everyone else was standing. Besides that, I remember this night perfectly. We were in Israel, and it was the first time that we were joining in the Shabbat celebration with our host.

First of all, I have such an interest in Jewish culture. I love the rituals and the holidays with the specific foods and songs and sayings. Thus, for me it was kind of a dream come true to be in Israel living with a practicing Jewish couple.

As I mentioned, we got to be a part of their Shabbat celebration. This was a time of fellowship for our team and our host couple. We shared dinner and participated in the rituals. I loved the whole thing—the married men reciting Proverbs 31 to their wives, the eating of the challah bread and drinking of the wine at certain points throughout the meal, the singing of “Shabbat Shalom.”

This particular night I was just so tickled. The boys each had to wear a kippah, and I loved how they looked in them. For some reason especially I was laughing at Callan. He kind of reminded me of Aladdin, and there was something about the way that he was holding his glass and swirling his wine around that made my friend Michelle and I laugh so hard.

After dinner, some of us stayed over at the house and played games. We played Short Bus, which is kind of like a more frustrating version of Taboo. I remember our host laughing so hard because this lady Ruth called Harry Potter “Henry Potter.” Also, I remember the aforementioned Ruth singing a Hebrew song for us. She was such a character. We played our own version of Balderdash, too. We were so surprised that our host was such a good liar. He told us that his nickname in high school was Switchblade, so we called him that from then on.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mama permalink
    August 3, 2010 9:41 pm

    Love it.

  2. August 6, 2010 11:37 am

    what a great night!

Leave a Reply

