Skip to content

easy peasy DIY: yarn-wrapped bottles and jars.

November 30, 2011

Once again, Pinterest to the rescue.

I saw these super cute yarn-wrapped wine bottles and though to myself, that has to be easy peasy.

So I sat down and gave it a try, and indeed, it truly was. Here’s how I did it:

Materials: Whatever jar/bottle you want to wrap in yarn (I did two mason jars and one wine bottle)
yarn of your choice (I used yellow/white and grey)
scissors
a hot glue gun (this is my mom’s awesome hot glue gun from like, the 80s).

Time committment: I would say once I got the hang of it, each one took about 15 minutes.

Step 1) Start by warming up your hot glue gun. Dab a bit wherever you want your yarn wrap to start and quickly glue on the end of your yarn.

Step 2) Begin wrapping. Every so often (i probably did every six wraps, although I don’t think this is a science) put a little dab of glue and press your yarn into it. Again, work quickly, because the glue hardens fast. Also be careful because burning your finger on the hot glue really sucks.

Step 3) Continue wrapping. Depending on your bottle, there will probably be parts that are a bit trickier to keep your yarn uniformly lined up. Just use your glue dabs more often on those parts. For my project, it was the neck to body part of the wine bottle, and the curved bottoms of the mason jars. I just glued more often and tried to be more careful about lining up the yarn, but as you can see, mine’s still not perfect. You can probably do better than me on this.

Step 4) You’re done! Choose a candle or a flower arrangement and then place them around your house. Mine I actually gave to a friend as a birthday gift, but I want to make more to put up on my mantle. They look so cozy, which makes me want to integrate some into my Christmas decor.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2011 10:26 am

    you’re so cute.

  2. meganlilly permalink
    November 30, 2011 11:03 am

    Love it! I found the bottle idea on Pinterest and tried it, too. Below was my finished result. Yours look great! http://itsmeganlilly.wordpress.com/2011/10/18/getting-crafty

  3. November 30, 2011 1:35 pm

    full disclosure: i kinda like pinterest. it’s addicting. i might go make some bottles like this soon, haha.

Trackbacks

  1. Wedding Wednesday #1: 10 months to go « Kristy's Health Revolution
  2. Wedding Wednesday #2: 9 months to go « Kristy's Health Revolution
  3. Wedding Wednesday #3: 8 months to go « Kristy's Health Revolution
  4. Wedding Wednesday #4: 7 months to go | Kristy's Health Revolution
  5. Wedding Wednesday #5: 6 months to go | Kristy's Health Revolution
  6. Wedding Wednesday #6: 4 months to go | Kristy's Health Revolution

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 204 other followers

